News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Newb Fuel System Question

Started by cudadude013, January 12, 2008, 04:56:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cudadude013

Hi all,

I've been trying to get my '68 to run for the last six months and I'm brand new to working on cars so forgive me if I'm missing something obvious. Theres something wrong with my fuel system and my only guess is that I need a new fuel pump but it could easily be something else I just wanted to see if you guys could offer any help.Yesterday I filled a zip loc bag full of fuel and poked a hole in it and let it drain into the carb and it started right up. But if I don't manually dump fuel into the carb this way  it won't get any.

The fuel line is currently hooked up to one of those red plastic gas cans which was only about 1/4 of the way full (this could be another problem cause the fuel line is on the top of the red canister so I don't see how its supposed to get fuel)

Any idea's for a newb? Thanks a bunch!  :2thumbs:

Steve P.

If I am reading this right, you have the rubber fuel line connected to the VENT of the fuel can. This will not work. The line MUST be submerged in the fuel. I have had the occasion that I needed to start and run a motor with a fuel can. I use a piece of straight tubing shoved into the end of the pick up hoes and set to the bottom of the can making sure it is well below the fuel line.

Are you using the factory mechanical pump or an electric pump?
Steve P.
Holiday, Florida

cudadude013

I think its a factory pump and thanks for the reply. I've been learning alot from this board!

Steve P.