News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Just was is numbers matching and how do you ID the numbers?

Started by 69 rt, October 04, 2005, 09:27:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

69 rt

Hello,

I am rather new to Muscle cars, but I am restoring what I believe to be a numbers matching 69RT 440. I have the thing apart and I want to check all numbers, where do I check to make sure my numbers match my car, and what numbers should I check. I know you all can smarten me up, come on CB you can help.

Thanks

Blown70

Cars have the following.

On the passender side of the block there is a ground off area that has the last digits of the cars dash number stamped I think its 7 or 8  total.

They are also on the trasmission.   Dep. on std or auto.   But they will also be stamped.

Those ## will be on the drivers side Rad support, drivers trunk rail, You usually have to remove the trunk gasket and scrape to see them.

I think I got them all....

Example:   if it is a true RT it will start   XS29L9B   The L is the engine,, L means 440 mag, the 9 is the year   the B (not even sure if that is one) but that is where the car was built.  The last numbers are the serial number of the car.

The fender tag on the drivers side will have all the options that were ordered with the car.

Blown 70

OHH ALSO THE FENDER TAG on the bottom line will have the entire Dash number on it.

hope that helps.

69charger2002

on the motor there are usually 8. it will be 9B or 9G, followed by the last 6 digits of your VIN. if those last 6 match the vin on your windshield, it's your #'s matching motor, all fishy stuff aside.. everything else is exactly what blown 70 said
trav
i live in CHARGERLAND.. visitors welcome. 166 total, 7 still around      

http://charger01foster.tripod.com/

69 rt

Thanks for the help,