News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Need advice to rebuild a 440 motor

Started by sixpack_sid, November 30, 2007, 10:49:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sixpack_sid

Is there a book out anywhere to rebuild a 440 motor?? I need a book that shows step by step how to rebuild a motor since I've never done one before. When I bought the car, the motor was in pieces. Is it hard to rebuild?
Thanks!
Sid
I have seen evil! I have seen horror!
I have seen the unholy maggots which feast in the dark recesses of the human soul!
I have seen all this. But until today, I have never seen such a pain in the ars car like this 68 Charger!

Ghoste

I would suggest more than one but if it had to be only one, I'd start with the factory shop manual.  You can get reprints from the restoration supply places or you can get it on cd-rom from Chrysler. 

firefighter3931

Sid, there is an excellent publication for the novice engine builder by Don Taylor. All the basics are covered and it is an easy read with lots of pics and diagrams. Every mopar guy should have this book on the shelf.  ;)

http://www.amazon.com/Big-block-mopar-engines-Don-Taylor/dp/1557881901

Ron
68 Charger R/T "Black Pig" Street/Strip bruiser, 70 Charger R/T 440-6bbl Cruiser. Firecore ignition  authorized dealer ; contact me with your needs

dukeboy_318

Quote from: firefighter3931 on December 01, 2007, 01:29:32 AM
Sid, there is an excellent publication for the novice engine builder by Don Taylor. All the basics are covered and it is an easy read with lots of pics and diagrams. Every mopar guy should have this book on the shelf.  ;)

http://www.amazon.com/Big-block-mopar-engines-Don-Taylor/dp/1557881901

Ron

i bought this book and love it, id reccomend it defientely.
1978 Dodge Power Wagon W200 4x4- 408 stroker/4spd