News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

528 HEMI

Started by ScottMH, September 02, 2007, 08:28:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ScottMH

Does anyone have any tips on fitting a 528 HEMI in a E-Body 1973 Cuda?

Mefirst

I'm no expert, but these are some issues Ive heard you'll encounter...

You need new engine mounts, I think Schumacher (Spell?) makes the correct ones.
If your car has power brakes, the power brake assembly may cause issues. The power brake assembly will like hit the driver side cylinder head.
Is the inlet/outlet of the water pump on your crate Hemi on the same side as your radiator inlet/outlet
Will your trans and rear axle be able to handle the increase power and torque of the 528?
Who is building your Hemi engine? There has been and may still be serious quality issues with the Mopar crate engines.

/Tom

Ghoste

Chrysler sells a manual for installing their crate engines into various vehicles under part number P5007521 as well.

Rolling_Thunder

motor mounts (schumacher)

Power brakes are an issue in most cases

8 bolt flywheel or flexplate

different engine wiring harness

1968 Dodge Charger - 6.1L Hemi / 6-speed / 3.55 Sure Grip

2013 Dodge Challenger R/T - 5.7L Hemi / 6-speed / 3.73 Limited Slip

1964 Dodge Polara 500 - 440 / 4-speed / 3.91 Sure Grip

1973 Dodge Challenger Rallye - 340 / A-518 / 3.23 Sure Grip

ScottMH

so i take it that the 528 is physically bigger than the 426? i was thinking it was just a stroked out 426

70charger_boy

Spike tv's Musclecar put a crate 528 hemi in a 70 challenger.  Check out there website they should have all the specs on the build

Mefirst

Quote from: ScottMH on September 03, 2007, 07:58:40 AM
so i take it that the 528 is physically bigger than the 426? i was thinking it was just a stroked out 426