News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Where to start?

Started by spcterry, July 18, 2007, 04:57:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

spcterry

Hi everyone,
I'm new to all this but everyone I've talked to said if you want to restore a car to just do it so I bought a 73 charger for three hundred bucks. I was wondering where the best starting point would be. Every bit of the car needs work but I'm not sure what to start on first. Any help would be great Thanks!

Chatt69chgr

You need to take a bunch of pictures and post them.  Then folks can help you.  As it is, we have no idea what state your car is in now.

spcterry

Here are some pictures of the car, it's a piece of junk now but that's why I got it. The engine pic is when I first got it. I have since taken out the hoses, wiring, air cleaner, carb, intake manifold, master cylinder, valve covers, alternator and radiator. I'm waiting to get an engine stand so I can pull the engine and then I'll sand and paint the engine bay.

twinscrew698

I would look at the k frame suspension mounts and make sure they are good and the ears not rusted out!!

They are prone to wear out and rust eats up the ears for the K frame..since you are pulling the motor anyhow,it is a lot easier with motor out..

Then check steering and suspension etc..

Chatt69chgr