News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Flames!! from my carb - 68 RT / 440

Started by Dads68RT, June 03, 2007, 10:38:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dads68RT

New head gaskets, and exhaust from the headers back. Now flames shoot up when I turn the ignition. I'm a complete novice (brake job and belts) I have a large 4-barrel Holley carb on a 440 engine. I need someone willing to walk me through tuning the carb (realizing I know no lingo).
This car brought me home from the hospital in 1970. I don't want to screw it up.

Thanks,

aRT

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vN_mWpwemUI

Big Lebowski

Back off the distributer while cranking 'till it starts.
"Let me explain something to you, um i am not Mr. Lebowski, you're Mr. Lebowski. I'm the dude, so that's what you call me. That or his dudeness, or duder, or you know, el duderino if you're not into the whole brevity thing."

Dads68RT

Thanks for the reply. How do I back off the distributor? Remember - complete novice.

jg68

Quote from: Dads68RT on June 03, 2007, 11:11:40 PM
Thanks for the reply. How do I back off the distributor? Remember - complete novice.

The timing might be too slow (retarded), turn the distributor clockwise some & see if that helps, useally on those BBs if the timing is slow, it'll shoot a big fire ball out the carb, you also may have ruptured the PV in the carb, but get the timing figured out first, have a timing light hooked up when doing this :icon_smile_wink:

aifilaw