News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Problem: temp gauge jumps up, then goes back to normal

Started by resq302, May 28, 2007, 09:47:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

resq302

Ok, I was on the way to a car show yesterday and was glancing at my gauges on my 69 Charger when I noticed the temp gauge jump to the right (get hotter) and then slowly return down to where it it should have been.  The other gauuges (oil and fuel) might have done this also but I was looking at the coolant temp mainly.  What would cause this?  Is it a bad voltage reducer on the back of the instrument cluster?  It does not do it all the time and seems to be one of those once in a great while type of deals. 

On another note, I have a 180 degree stat in the engine.  On the highway going to the show in the AM it was nice and cool out, probably 60s or low 70s, low humidity, and it was running 180 all the way.  I got off the exit ramp and it went up to about 190.  Now on the way home it was really hot and humid out and the temp was running about the 12 o'clock position on the coolant gauge which is (estimating half way between the 170-230 range) I would have to say it was probably running at around 200 degrees.  My car is a 383 HP 4 bbl bored 30 over with a mild cam, 4 spd manual trans, 3.55 gears (most of the trip was running at around 3000 RPMs and 65 mph) and the fan is a direct drive fan with a 22" rad and no shroud, exactly as Mopar designed it.  With the high humidity and temps yesterday, is 200 degrees on the open highway too excessive or is that an acceptable temp.  When I got off the highway coming home, it went up to mabye 210 tops but nothing over it.

Just looking for the groups opinion as to what theirs run at or what they should run at. ???
Brian