News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Quirky 1968 Charger details

Started by Magnumcharger, January 10, 2007, 12:43:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Magnumcharger

Ok, I THOUGHT I knew a fair bit about Chargers.
Turns out, I'm STILL a novice after 30+ years of being an "authority" among my friends.
I guess you can never know too much!

Things I've learned in the last two days from this forum:
There were SEVERAL different trunklids used on 68-70 Chargers. An early "two-piece"...a "regular"...and a "Wing cut-out" version for 1970's.
See pic for comparison...
Now I also find out that "early" 1968 Chargers may contain 1967 carry-over parts. -Whew!-

Can somebody answer me this: Why do some 1968 Chargers have the Dodge medallion in between the speedometer and Tach/clock, and others have the "bulls-eye" medallion.
Inquiring minds want to know!
1968 Plymouth Barracuda Formula S 340 convertible
1968 Dodge Charger R/T 426 Hemi 4 speed
1968 Plymouth Barracuda S/S clone 426 Hemi auto
1969 Dodge Deora pickup clone 318 auto
1971 Dodge Charger R/T 440 auto
1972 Dodge C600 318 4 speed ramp truck
1972 Dodge C800 413 5 speed
1979 Chrysler 300 T-top 360 auto
2001 Dodge RAM Sport Offroad 360 auto
2010 Dodge Challenger R/T 6 speed
2014 RAM Laramie 5.7 Hemi 8 speed

Troy

Here's an old thread on the medallions: http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,7623.0.html There was a much longer (more detailed one) on the old site. I'm not sure there ever was a consensus but I have 2 of each.

Troy
Sarcasm detector, that's a real good invention.

CHASWINGMAN2