News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Newbie here, '68 Charger R/T

Started by factorybrook, December 09, 2006, 08:19:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

factorybrook

I've been lurking here for a while, keeping my eyes open for a '68 Charger like my Dad had. Found one locally the other day, owner says it's a '68 R/T Hemi 4 spd. He bought it in 1970 for $1000 and parked it in his garage in 1980 after some crumpled the rear quarter. He say only missing original exhaust manifold, replaced with headers in '72. We haven't talked $$, I'm going over this morning to check it out. What should I look for to make sure it's an original Hemi car? What should I look for on the fender tag? He's not advertising it, he found out from a mutual friend that I was looking for one...

Thanks in advance,
Drew

Ghoste

If it's a real Hemi car, for starters the vin should be "XS29J8xxxxxxx".  The S and the J are important as the S is indicating an RT and teh J is telling you Hemi.  On the fender tag, look on thebottom row.  The numbers will be grouped and the second group from the left should be 73.
There are more indicators to determine if its real but that is the beginning.

factorybrook

Thanks... Is there an online decoder for the fender tag? I plan on taking a digital photo of the tag (immediately after writing the check) to find out exactly what I have.

Spike

Welcome to the site, good luck on the Charger.
And for decoding check out http://www.mymopar.com/tools.htm

Chad L. Magee