News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

rear end change help

Started by busteed, June 25, 2006, 09:48:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

busteed

I need a step by step instruction on how to remove my 8-1/4 rear end from my 74 Charger.  I need to know where to put jack stands and the whole process.  I am replacing it with a 8-3/4.  I have never taken a rear end out, I am a rookie at this part.  Are there any considerations when swapping a 8-1/4 to a 8-3/4?  My car currently has a 904 trans and I am changing to a 727.  Thanks for your help,
                                   BUSTEED

66charger73

I've never done the swap but I've investigated it for my 73 also and what I've heard is, and I'm sure the pros will chime in soon, that if you have a rearend for the same year car with the same spring perch distance then this is a direct bolt in except for the drive shaft which is longer for the 904 tranny. When I reconditionned the 8 1/4 in my 73 i put jackstands right under the rear frame rails in front of the axle and just disconnected the brake cables and hose, while supporting the rear with a jack, unbolted and removed the shocks, unbolted and knocked the rear shackles out, and took the front spring bolts out and just lowered the jack and dragged the whole thing right out. You would also gain a lot of space and lose a lot of weight by removing tires and drums. I figured you'd remove the whole assembly to at least replace bushings if not springs and shackles themselves.  Good Luck! :thumbs:

RD

Quote from: busteed on June 25, 2006, 09:48:11 PM
I need to know where to put jack stands and the whole process.

Make sure you put a chock block in front of your front wheels