News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Dead Battery… had to get a Tow !!

Started by Roger 68 charger, June 26, 2024, 04:57:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Roger 68 charger

I am hoping someone here can help me with my charging issues. I am not a mechanic, but I try to do most of my work myself.
I got my car running a couple months ago. Everything's been going pretty good, but I had my car out the other day. I was about 25 miles from my house and came out and my car would not start. It barely turned over and then just started clicking, like a dead battery. I got a jump. It started right up so I decided to try and make it home. I got about 5 miles from my house and driving down the road It must've lost spark or something, but it died, and I coasting into a parking lot. Now it was really dead would barely click so I called the hook.
So a little history on my car. It's a 1968 charger, I have a 440 stroker motor in it. I have a new Optima Red top battery. I am running a mechanical regulator. I soldered a solid wire behind the ballast resistor to bypass that. I have a new one wire power master alternator that the paperwork says it puts out 75 A at idle 85 amp Cruise and 110 top end. I have all new M&H wiring, harnesses front the back. When I was wiring up my alternator, I read a lot of nachos threads on this site and tried to wire it up based on these threads.