News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Panel gaps. Big deal?

Started by phantom, June 08, 2016, 04:00:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

phantom

Ok, this question is for all people in this forum, but mostly those with un-restored cars:

Do you pay much attention to your panel gaps? Are they perfect -- acceptable -- or bad? Which panels are most often not properly aligned?

Reason i ask is, i've been working on my project for two years now, and for the last year or so, the major task has been fitting new panels. Everything from the doors back is new, plus right front inner fender, cowl and left outer fender, so i've had pretty much the whole car to realign. And as i worked on my gaps, i got more and more focused on getting them as perfect as i could, to the point of obsession  :lol:

The first thing i look at when i see a picture of a Charger, or a real car at a show, is the panel gaps. Especially cars i know have been restored and/or modified. Sloppy panel gaps on restored cars might suggest sloppy work, right? I also know these cars werent exactly put together like they do today.

How about you guys that have restored your cars, how much attention did you pay to the gaps?

tan top

having been a body & paint guy since I was 18ish  , in  1989 ,  was a mechanic before that !  ... time goes soo quick  :rotz: ,

yes , GAPS  , important !  

thats one of the first things I look at , the gaps  ,

although  no more important  than doing & or seeing if ,  the welding / filling prepping & painting properly  , it all goes together  :yesnod: