News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Cheap towing rig

Started by Homerr, April 22, 2016, 11:29:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Homerr

I'm needing a truck for home projects and landscaping stuff.  It'll be low-use overall and not a daily driver.  I'm drawn to the usual craigslist contenders: 67-79 Fords, 60-72 Chevy/GMC, or 72-93 Dodge.  Trying to keep the budget pretty low on this, $1500-2500.  I'm heavily leaning toward manual transmission.  In any case I'd get the mechanicals and any structural issues sorted.

I've never done any towing before.  Is it worth considering the trucks above as a tow vehicle?  I'd be just fine taking slow roads back and staying off freeways.  I'm thinking of a U-Haul Auto Transport trailer for the eventual trip(s) to go check out a potential Mopar project car.  https://www.uhaul.com/Trailers/Auto-Transport-Rental/AT/  When I put in any truck 10 years or older their tow setup configurator it alerts about condition of the vehicle, etc.  The trailer rents for $20/day.

I'm thinking that showing up with cash and a trailer will be the best situation for any project car I may buy.  But there may be a few attempts before finding the right car.  I'm thinking somewhat local, say within 100 miles.  Very unlikely anything I'll be able to afford will be a driver.  So, my truck towing a U-Haul trailer is a $20 option - pretty cheap still.

Of course, U-Haul is happy to rent a truck in addition to a trailer.  A pickup and trailer runs $75 + $0.89/mile, so 100 mile radius totals $253, starting to add up.  If I reserve a truck/trailer near the project car and I go ahead with it then that's around $183.  If I reserve and don't go through, then a $50 cancellation fee.

So, with all that as a background:

Is towing with a 40+/- year old truck crazy?