News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Giant Chryslers

Started by lloyd3, December 07, 2015, 10:03:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lloyd3

It's funny what you're drawn to during quiet moments. I've got a copy of last August's Hemming's Motor News next to the hopper and the cover is about station wagons from the early 70s. Big ones!  My father always seemed to own a station wagon. Used it for everything you would use a pickup truck for, and haul kids to boot. He leaned towards the Ford stuff, but he was equal opportunity, as we had quite a mix over the years.  From Hemming's, I graduated to YouTube and all the postings there about cars (mostly ones for sale on some dismal lot somewhere, but some funny ones like "redneck car shows"). I had forgotten about all the varieties of wagons, bigger and smaller, that have been so completely replaced on our modern roads. Minivans seem to have filled that void, but they are nowhere as varied as the wagons were. Chrysler built the biggest, without a doubt. Some of them (the "Suburban" variants come to mind, seemingly built by every Mopar branch) were absolutely enormous. All seemed to have either 383s or 440s, all had third row seating, and many were nicely appointed.  Some have even been modified to mimic the muscle cars they share some genetics with, like Roadrunner wagons (from Satellite base cars).  A few years ago you couldn't give one away. Now they seem to have a following?

moparjohn

As an owner of a late 69 Chrysler wagon, all I can say is that they ARE cool, have all the goodies from R/T type cars (less Hemi) and can carry lots of stuff or tow a trailer. So they are big, and mature minded. a blast to own in there own right. MPJ
Happiness is having a hole in your roof!

RallyeMike