News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Power steering part time leak

Started by ws23rt, July 02, 2015, 05:43:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ws23rt

I pulled my C500 in the garage a few weeks back and the next morning I found a puddle of PS fluid on the floor. The pump housing was wet with fluid but the steering gear was not. The fluid level was way low. I cleaned everything up that day and filled the pump.---A Saginaw pump--

Today I started the car and  set about locating the leak.--- I found no leak :scratchchin:  Any ideas about how this could happen?

MAC

I'm no expert on this but I have the same problem going on with my power steering unit on my 440.
It doesn't leak until the car is idle. I believe it is seeping by the seal & bearing behind the pulley after it's been driven and the unit is hot allowing the unit to leak.
I have found a used one I hope to replace it with this weekend. My pump is the TRW which isn't made any longer and I am replacing it with a different model (Saginaw I believe) come equipped with identical brackets and pulley for mounting.
I have been told that there is a rebuild kit for the Saginaw's which isn't very difficult to install. Someone with a lot more knowledge than I should advise you better.
Once I get mine off I will confirm if my theory is correct about where she's leaking from and let you know.
Sorry I couldn't help you better.

c00nhunterjoe

Saginaws are a peice of cake to reseal. Its most likely just the resevoir oring.

Pete in NH

I had a power steering leak that turned out to be a pin hole in the pressure hose. Every time you turned the wheel lock to lock the pressure would build and a fine spray of fluid would spray out of the hose. It drove me crazy for a while finding it. And yes, Saginaw pumps are very easy to reseal.