News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

spark plug and jets

Started by Al, September 20, 2014, 02:00:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Al

Hello
My Charger has a 383 engine with MSD ignition, TBI headers, Lunati 303 cam (268°) and a 670 Holley street avenger. It came with 65 jets front and 68 rear. Engine was running lean. By Trial and error I upped the jets to 74 front and 76 rear.

What do you think of my plugs? Too rich or is it ok?

greets
Al
1968 Dodge Charger, 383, UU1

69wannabe

Looks rich to me but i'm no expert. Might back the jets back down to maybe 72's in the front and see how the plug's look after that. What distributor are you running and what is your timing set at??? Initial around 14 to 18 is usually good with around 34 to 38 total depending on your compression and what heads you are running...

Al

I run a Mopar distributor. Timing is 18°@800 rpm, timing total 36°@2500. That should be in the ballpark.

jlatessa

Those are 383 plugs? What heads?

Joe

Al

Eddy rpm heads and eddy Performer rpm intake manifold

69wannabe

Timing sounds good that should work fine, does the car still seem to be running lean after you upped the jets or is it running good? Them street avenger carbs are not my favorite. I had one on my 383 and had to jet it up quite a bit to get it to run good and it was just using stock heads and a low rise dual plane intake. You may be better off to go up to a holley 750 DP carb or a 750 vacuum secondary carb with them bigger valve heads and RPM intake...

c00nhunterjoe