News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

rebuilding an 8 3/4

Started by Dreamcar, January 26, 2014, 09:15:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dreamcar

This is something I've never done before. I also want to change gear ratios. Is this something I should try to do myself? Are there any good guides I can follow? Who are the best parts suppliers? Any insight is appreciated. Thanks
"And another thing, when I gun the motor, I want people to think the world is coming to an end." - Homer Simpson

1969 Charger, 383, Q5/V1W, A35, H51, N88,  numbers match (under restoration)

Dino

Quote from: Dreamcar on January 26, 2014, 09:15:55 AM
This is something I've never done before. I also want to change gear ratios. Is this something I should try to do myself? Are there any good guides I can follow? Who are the best parts suppliers? Any insight is appreciated. Thanks

Changing the center section is easy enough.  But I'm not one to play with the actual gears and adjustments.  The FSM has good instructions.  I don't know about suppliers, most of mine are CL and ebay, ubt everyone seems to like Dr. Diff.

When I drop the T56 in my car, I would love to have a true trac.  Best of both worlds!

http://www.doctordiff.com/8-3-4-eaton-truetrac-differential.html

The hardest part of the axle is setting the bearing preload.  Search this site for how to's or replace the bearings with green bearings and discard the adjuster.
Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence.

fy469rtse

Got a factory service manual, read up on how to do it again and again, do your research on the best components