News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

1971 383 SE Headliner Help

Started by Andru_Z, May 23, 2013, 11:40:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andru_Z

Hi Everyone, my '71 needs a new headliner. I have zero experience with restoring car interiors, but I'm gonna give it a go. Can anyone who's done this before provide any tips, insights, do's and don'ts, special equipment suggestions? Thanks!

ACUDANUT

I paid a pro. up.  shop to do mine.

Andru_Z

Thanks for the reply. I'm pretty dead-set on giving it a shot myself, though. What did you pay, if you don't mind my asking?

Bob

I never did one until I did mine. It was pretty easy once you get started. Every where the materila is tucked, that piece needs to be removed. Just do the reversal when puting everything back together.

Andru_Z

Thanks, Bob! The car currently has no headliner whatsoever, so unfortunately working backwards isn't an option. I was thinking of buying my kit and accessories from the website yearone.com. Where did you get yours?

ACUDANUT

The shop that did mine was around 3-4 hundred. Beware the headliner you order does not always fit.  My up. shop had to seriously modify mine (from year one) to make the bows work.  I tried it on my own and found out I was not in error. It's the reproduced product that is never right. :Twocents:  :brickwall: :brickwall: :brickwall:

Andru_Z

Gotcha. Good to know. Thank you!!

Andru_Z

Bob, where did you get your headliner from? Did you have to modify it much to make it fit?

Bob

Quote from: Andru_Z on May 23, 2013, 05:06:20 PM
Bob, where did you get your headliner from? Did you have to modify it much to make it fit?

Bought it from Hardings who is long out of business. I think I paid $104.00